The Book of Genesis
Search The Bible Logo

The Book of Genesis

Most scholars agree that the first five books of the Bible, collectively known as the Pentateuch were authored primarily by Moses during the 40 year period when Israel wandered the desert. This occurred from about 1446 to 1406 BC. The first book of the Bible, Genesis gives us the account of creation, the stories of Adam and Eve, the fall of mankind, Noah's Ark, the tower of Babel, Joseph's coat of many colours and much more.

The notable components of Genesis are as follows. Select a title to read about each event or select from the chapter list below.


The Fall


Tower of Babel

God's Covenant


Sodom & Gomorrah

Sacrifice of Isaac


Jacob is Blessed

Joseph is Born

Isaac Dies

Joseph Imprisoned

Brothers in Egypt


Adam and Eve

Cain and Abel

The Flood

Abram and Lot

Hagar and Ishmael

A Promise


Sarah's Death

Esau's Birthright

Jacob's Ladder

Jacob Wrestles

A Coat of Many Colours

Pharaoh's Dreams

Joseph Tells All

Select a Chapter:
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 20
Chapter 21
Chapter 22
Chapter 23
Chapter 24
Chapter 25
Chapter 26
Chapter 27
Chapter 28
Chapter 29
Chapter 30
Chapter 31
Chapter 32
Chapter 33
Chapter 34
Chapter 35
Chapter 36
Chapter 37
Chapter 38
Chapter 39
Chapter 40
Chapter 41
Chapter 42
Chapter 43
Chapter 44
Chapter 45
Chapter 46
Chapter 47
Chapter 48
Chapter 49
Chapter 50


The Old Testament